Archive

Back to homepage
Sports

McDavid shines early for Oilers

By Dennis Caniz Staff Writer D.M.Caniz@iup.edu 10/28/16 It is only week two of the National Hockey League season, and some young stars are starting to shine. Take Edmonton Oilers captain

Sports

Playoff hopes still alive after victory

By Matt Staub Staff Writer M.A.Staub@iup.edu 10/28/16 The IUP field hockey team dominated Mansfield University, 4-2, Tuesday to set up a showdown against Kutztown University for the final playoff spot

Sports

Penn State upsets No. 2 Ohio State in wild finish in Happy Valley

By Jed Johnson Staff Writer J.N.Johnson3@iup.edu 10/28/16 As the college football season heads into its final month, Alabama has not relinquished its top rank. The Crimson Tide is ranked fourth

Sports

Player profile: Jenna Lezanic

By Amber Bailey Staff Writer A.L.Bailey2@iup.edu 10/28/16 Jenna Lezanic (senior, health services administration) is not your average college athlete.    Not only is she a full-time student-athlete, but she also

Sports

World Series evened up as series shifts to the Windy City

By Jarrod Browne Lead Sports Writer J.W.Browne@iup.edu 10/28/16 With the World Series tied 1-1, the Chicago Cubs and Cleveland Indians are now playing in a best-of-five series. Both teams were

Sports

IUP playoff hopes remain alive, must-win matchup with Shippensburg set for Saturday

By Evan McCue Staff Writer E.M.McCue@iup.edu 10/28/16 IUP’s goal of reaching the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC) playoffs seemed to be unlikely entering Wednesday’s game in Erie against the No.

2016-2017 News

College Republicans, democrats debate before Election Day

Kristy Shearer Contributing Writer K.A.Shearer@iup.edu 10/28/16 Representatives from the College Republicans and College Democrats at IUP participated in a formal debate Wednesday. The Political Science Student Leadership Committee led the

2016-2017 News

Writer wins Fright Night tickets for Friday’s trip to Kennywood

Stephanie Bachman Lead News Writer S.L.Bachman@iup.edu 10/28/16 The Kathleen Jones White Writing Center announced that Elisa Riggs (sophomore, criminal justice) won tickets to Kennywood’s Phantom Fright Night from its Halloween-themed

2016-2017 News

A cult classic returns to IUP Friday night

Tiffany Catherman Staff Writer T.M.Catherman@iup.edu 10/28/16 The Residence Hall Association (RHA) is staging its annual showing of “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” from 8 to 10:30 p.m. Friday in Wallwork

2016-2017 News Police Blotter

Police Blotter 10.28.16

Alcohol Violations • Robert Coyle Jr., 21, of Fenelton, was cited for public drunkenness at 1:04 a.m. Oct. 22 in the 600 block of Philadelphia Street, according to the Indiana

2016-2017 News

Indiana community, university officials prepare for another Halloween

Tiffany Catherman Staff Writer T.M.Catherman@iup.edu 10/28/16 The Halloween staples, of course, include dressing up in costumes, trick-or-treating and some clowning around, but some individuals worry that it will be taken

2016-2017 News

Six O’Clock Series to explain why Halloween isn’t the spookiest thing for students

Cody Pattison Staff Writer C.W.Pattison@iup.edu 10/28/16 The IUP Career and Professional Development Center will be cosponsoring a Six O’Clock Series titled “Don’t be Spooked by Life after College” Monday in